Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sell your MacBook

macbook pro early 2011 no led backlight lvds broken???

edited March 2013 in General
Hi,

I bought a broken mbp early 2011 on ebay thought it would be fun trying to fix it. It works fine but the led backlight is not working. I tried my logicboard on a different lcd and there was also no backlight. I also tested the lcd and the same no backlight. By looking at the lvds cable and the connector on logicboard I noticed that some small plastic parts from the cable are stuck inside of the lvds connector. I was not able to get them out of the lvds connector. Then i saw that also rwo pins of the connector were missing.f has someone ever tried soldering a lvds connector onto a logicboard??

Comments

• edited March 2013
    Hi! Thanks for the post.

I'm not an expert at unibody LED screen issues, but a lot of the time when the backlight is out, it's due to a small blown microfuse on the board, and the issue can be resolved by replacing/bridging the microfuse. Here's a discussion on this site related to the issue:

https://www.rdklinc.com/answers/discussion/22/dead-logic-board

My main question is, does the screen still work (with backlight out) even minus the two pins, and did it originally have the same issue before you opened the machine and disconnected the display connector? Also, when you say you tried a different LCD, do you mean you tried an entirely different screen assembly, with cable and all? And are you 100% sure this is a known-good screen assembly, i.e. have you seen it working with a backlight on another computer? Sometimes people get into trouble by assuming a part is good when in fact it's not, and that leads them to incorrect conclusions.