Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sell your MacBook

solder lifespan

edited January 2012 in MacBook Pro
John,
I found a spot on my 2010 MacBook Pro that powers the backlight for the display. It's a tiny chip with a white dot on it. I used tweezers on each side and found that holding them there caused the backlight to come back to life.

Anyway, so I've never soldered anything before but decided to try it to connect the chip and now the backlight is working great again. Do you have any experience with this? Will this work for the long haul or did I just do something that will make the problem worse in the future?

Thanks, as always for the assist...

Comments

• edited January 2012
    Good to hear about the successful repair! I have witnessed this phenomenon too, but I've never attempted the particular repair myself. I'm pretty bad a soldering, unfortunately.

I'm not an expert at this, but the way I understand it, there is one potential issue. That chip is a microfuse, similar to any kind of fuse, in that it is there to protect hardware from being damaged. Instead of the hardware being damaged, the fuse blows. So if the soldering job is bypassing the chip and creating a connection around it, the backlight may work for now, but a surge or other problem may cause the unprotected hardware to be permanently damaged. It's hard to say if that kind of situation would ever occur, and the machine might very well be just fine for the rest of its lifetime.